10 South Ave
Whitman, MA 02382
NRA Home Firearm Safety Course
The NRA Home Firearm Safety Course introduces the basic knowledge and skills, and to explain the attitude necessary for safe handling and storage of guns within the home. This is a four hour course and is taught in a classroom environment and is a NO LIVE FIRE course. Some of the many goals this course teaches are :The major causes of gun accidents, the basic elements of gun safety, state the safety rules when using and storing guns, identify the different types of handguns and know their parts, unloading and loading various types of handguns, a rifle and a shotgun. According to the Massachusetts State laws regarding the use and possession of handguns, this is the minimum required course that is needed to apply for your Massachusetts License to Carry Permit. After successfully completing this course, the students will receive the NRA certificate and a Massachusetts State Police certificate stating that all requirements have been met to pass this course. With their certificates, the students are eligible to apply for their License to Carry Permit. However, taking this course does in NO WAY guarantee that ANY firearm permit will be issued as there may be something on your record that will prevent the issuance of a LTC. The cost of this course is $65 which includes a student packet with all materials needed to take and successfully pass this course, and both the NRA and Massachusetts State Police certificates. With this being a NO LIVE FIRE class, we can do private classes at your place of employment, place of business or even your home. Some people feel more comfortable being around their own surroundings. If you would like to set something up like this, just let me know. The only thing that we ask is that there is at least 5 people attending.
NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting Safety Course
After successfully passing the NRA Home Firearm Safety Course, the NRA strongly urges all licensed firearm owners to take this course to better understand safe handling and shooting of their firearm. This course is a much more detailed course than the NRA Home Firearm Safety Course and is designed for licensed firearm owners who have a lengthy understanding, handling and firing at the gun range. YOU CAN NEVER LEARN TOO MUCH!!!
You now have the option to take the classroom portion either via online or in a classroom taught by an instructor. If you decide to take the classroom portion via online, you must register on the the NRA's Training website and pay a $65 fee which goes directly to the NRA. When you have completed this part of the course, and pass, you will then be ready to continue onto the Instructor led portion which is held at a gun range (which has a fee also). There is a live fire test at the end of the Instructor led portion of the course that must be passed for you to receive your certificates. Don't worry, we will be shooting many rounds of ammo and we will do everything we can to make sure you pass this test.
The other option is to take the classroom portion in an actual classroom taught by an instructor. The second part of the course is still an instructor led teaching at the gun range with a live fire test at the end which must be passed in order to receive your certificates. Don't worry, we will be shooting many rounds of ammo and we will do everything we can to make sure you pass this test. After successfully passing both portions of this course, you will then receive a certificate from the NRA and the Massachusetts State Police stating that you have met all requirements of taking a live fire course. In many states, taking and successfully passing the NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting Safety Course, is their minimum requirement before they will allow for you to apply for that state's non-resident LTC. Please contact us for prices of this course.
**There is no minimum of students to teach these classes. If the student wants to have the NRA Home Firearm Safety Course taught at his/her place of employment, his/her place of business or his/her home, then all we ask is that there are at least five people there that are wanting to take the course. We are more than willing to tailor the Home Firearm Safety Course to the student's needs.
Utah Non Resident LTC
We are now teaching the Utah non resident CFP course. This is the best non resident CFP to have as it is honored in 36 states. You MUST already have your MA LTC in order to apply for your Utah CFP, however, you can take the MA LTC class AND the Utah CFP class at the same time. Once you receive your MA LTC, you can then apply for your Utah CFP. As with the NRA Home Firearm Safety course, this course is a NO LIVE FIRE. Because of this, the Utah Non Resident LTC course can be taught in an individual's house, a persons place of employment or a persons business location. The only thing that we ask is that you have at least 5 people there that want to take this course.